May Business Journey Part 3

Coming home from that duckhunting trip with my buddy Steve, I decided to play the audio cassette tapes that Ed left me the night before after signing up with him.  The three tapes he left me I listened to while I was cleaning ducks in the garage, they made so much sense to me and made me laugh it got me even more interested in pursuing this even though I just got my first no from my lifelong friend, Steve.  My kids ran into the house to tell the Dolores that I was laughing in the garage, she could not believe what she saw, me laughing, it had been years since I have done that.  Monday morning came and I took those three tapes with me to work, I listen to them all again which geared me up for my follow-through that Ed had already scheduled with us that night.  It was funny because the Dolores  did not listen to the cassette tapes so  she was not as excited as I was to have Ed come back over.  When Ed got there she started asking him if our site sold the same products that we already bought.  When she found out it did not so the exact name brands she asked Ed if he had more of those tapes because I needed them.  I think back now that is so funny because I really did need them!  Anyway Ed brought it back around to asking me what I wanted from this, I told him I wanted to be free from my job and he gave me believe that I could be, so what he did is he offered to pick me up the next day and take me to the open meeting 45 minutes away from my house.  Of course I went because Knauer I was hungry to get the information I needed to succeed.  He also did the right thing and book the another meeting from that meeting and scheduled a house plan at our house 10 days away.  I was pumped because I felt like I was doing the right things necessary to succeed.

After going to that first open meeting it inspired me even more, it was like I couldn’t get enough of the information because my confidence was going up every time I heard a different speaker speak.  As I started making phone calls to invite people to our house plan I got rejected 10 times in a row, so the next day I called Ed and told him that this was stupid and it didn’t work for me.  So here is where my roller coaster ride started with my own thinking ha ha!  It was very gracious and ask me a question, “did you listen to that tape that I left for you on contacting”?  I said no so I agreed to listen to it that day, when I got home I started making phone calls and everybody I called said yes to coming over, the power of a system at work.  I’m not going to tell you how I contacted them because it was still a little bit wrong but I can tell you this everybody that said they were and come over did.  Dolores even contacted two people and they came over, I did not listen to the tape on how to run a house plan so of course I did that wrong too.  We basically got everybody fed and hydrated then I sat down and told Ed to go ahead and show us!  So at this point Ed had to dig himself out of a hole to give himself a little credibility, he booked the follow-throughs after the plan, and two people signed up from that house plan.  So we were off and running!

Two weeks after our first house plan, we attended the first seminar 2 1/2 hours away from our house.  This was the first time we left our newborn son James for over 7 hours.  Dolores was nervous to leave him for that long so we argued all the ways to our first seminar, only stayed for the first half, then drove home two and a half hours arguing all the way.  And I still would not change a thing.

I did notice at that first seminar that Ed and Lynette both were sitting in the front row of the seminar, so I went up to them and ask them how they had such good seats, they said if you just hit this thing we call power player which is just a business structure there is  reserve seating upfront.  He also said it’s where all the leaders sit, I look back now and it is funny how Ed knew how to play to my personality.  By this point he knew I wanted to be a leader and that would motivate me to do the right activities to sit in that reserve seating.  We did get to sit at that reserve seating four months later and our first major convention.

I will start Part 4  of this business journey  with the details and the importance of a major convention, without attending that first one I do not believe I would have hung on like we did to get our freedom.

God Bless,

Jim

About jimmartinlifeleadership

I'm an average guy living an unaverage life and looking to help others to do the same thing View all posts by jimmartinlifeleadership

2 responses to “May Business Journey Part 3

Leave a Reply

